That'll do...

By LizMBpics

Demoiselles

Or Damselflies to you and me. 

I went to NT property Anglesey Abbey with my full-frame and favourite Meyer Gorlitz Oreston lens with the intention of practicing composition with a 50mm prime lens. Needless to say, I got distracted around the Lode stream. The stream itself was rather unlovely with lots of pondweed, but towards the end of the path, it also had lots of these rather lovely damselflies sunning themselves and occasionally flitting about.

The Oreston is a lovely lens for macro work, but in truth, you need your subjects to sit reasonably still and to be a darn sight closer to you. I

Three out of the four shots were taken leaning somewhat perilously over the barrier and then heavily cropped in. The fourth shot was taken on my phone, zoomed in more than I would like. I'll leave you to guess which one that is.

The collage shows two photos of a male blue banded demoiselle; the green is a female (I think) and I'm not sure what the golden one is. It might be a female emerald damselfly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.