NCDNotts

By NCDWarks

Window...

I don't usually use verses from the Message (MSG) translation due to its origins being questionable. But this one does work well to emphasise how our own way of viewing the world affects us deeply.

When I gave my life to Christ in May 2022, the morning after was startlingly bright. The world was richer in colour than I've ever known it to be. There was a sense of enjoyment in what I saw, and a deeper sense of compassion for the people I encountered.

Jesus said that we must be born again to enter God's Kingdom, but the Pharisees did not comprehend what this meant; if the educated religious leaders don't get it, then who will?

Those who seek the truth about God and Jesus will. I read a quote a while ago which really stuck out to me, and whilst this isn't word for word, the meaning is hopefully as clear - "The most sure way of never finding the truth, is convincing yourself you already have it."

John 14:6 is an interesting and relevant passage to look up in response to that quote.

Your eyes are windows into your body. If you open your eyes wide in wonder and belief, your body fills up with light. If you live squinty-eyed in greed and distrust, your body is a musty cellar. If you pull the blinds on your windows, what a dark life you will have!
Matthew 6:22-23 MSG

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.