Sonset25

By Sonset25

What's that!

Started the day with a morning walk.  The air was fresh with no humidity.

Spent much of the morning after putting a washing load out in the garden reading.  Finally finished reading The Scarlet Letter.  It's not my sort of book centring on puritan New England and punishment for sinning.  

Now reading A Man Without Words by Susan Schaller.  The book is the account of a deaf adult Mexican Indian who lived in total isolation without having been taught basic language.  The foreword by Oliver Sacks indicates a fascinating read.

Mr came by the book when at a Quaker meeting he encountered the author who discussed her work with the deaf in America and her book and gifted it to him.  Mr enjoyed it and said I would enjoy it remarking it reminded him of my accounts of working as a teaching assistant working with EAL (English as an Additional Language) primary school pupils.   It was a role I absolutely loved and I was permitted to use my own strategies with minimal supervision from the peripatetic EAL teacher.   I achieved good results too.

It's been a gorgeous day.

Pleasant evening everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.