Living my dream

By Mima

Skirret

Here is the photo I promised a week or two ago of a freshly-lifted skirret root. The biggest individual roots are the thickness of my little finger. 

Once it is out of the ground I shake off the soil and then cut the roots off close to their base. This one root fell apart into six or seven smaller ones, and I replanted them all. 

Next year's edibles will develop from those wispy white rootlets close to the growing tops.

I started with three small plants, and now four years later I have enough to fill a 2sqm bed. Next year I'll be giving them away...

You can peel and boil the cut roots, but I prefer the ease and taste of roasting or frying them without bothering with peeling. If you have eaten salsify or scorzonera, these are very similar.

I will roast the skirret tomorrow, along with some parsnip and spuds. I'll then make roast veg soup, which is one of my favourite winter warming lunches. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.