PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Steam Punk Weekend in Whitby

I'm playing catch up with blips as, away from home, I've had difficulty posting. My last blip, I gave up on the day. Then the next day it posted first time. So anyway ... this is my blip for Sunday, when we spent the day in Whitby (and I spotted my first small tortoiseshell butterfly of the year). We picked a great weekend to visit the lovely coastal town, as it was a Steam Punk weekend. There were some amazing costumes to be seen. I particularly liked the octopus on a lady's shoulder, the wings, mask and musket of one surreal couple in my selection here.

Five years ago, we admired the cottage that had belonged to Captain James Cook's parents. It had been moved from Yorkshire, brick by brick, and rebuilt on the other side of the world in Melbourne. Today, we admired a statue commemorating the great Yorkshireman atop the west cliff in Whitby. (See Extras - which include the view Captain Cook has of Whitby Abbey ruins.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.