HareBrain

By HareBrain

KEEPING COOL

Or trying to.  It’s been another scorcher of a day 30degrees in the car and a Turkish bath out of it. 
 
I had to go to Shrewsbury early this morning for another hospital appointment and on the way back I stopped in Shawbury, grabbed a freshly made ham salad roll from the very nice deli and walked to the little Nature Reserve just out of town and one which I have always wanted to explore.  It’s set on the banks of the River Roden and is home to a historical Saxon fort and moat dating over 1,000 years ago.  The moat is still there along with the church but the dwellings no longer exist.   The walk to the moat was a little too long for me today, but instead I took the path down to the river, sat on a seat in the shade and enjoyed my salad roll.  Even too hot for the birds, I did see quite a few White Butterflies and two Ringlets flirting in the sunshine, and a very large dragonfly patrolling the river.
 
Then another few stop offs on the way home. 
The first at the lovely family-run garden centre for some garden string and plant food.  Then very nearly home a visit to friend to drop off her Birthday card and present for tomorrow.  Her daughter and three young granddaughters, all under 4 years old were also there so I had a lot of catching up with them.  Did a lot of swing pushing, bubble blowing, running in and out of the paddling pool and pram pushing etc, etc.  Granny is shattered, and I’m not surprised!!  I am too!!
One more drop off:  a Sympathy card for a friend of my daughter’s whose husband died last Saturday after a prolonged illness with cancer and he was only in his 50s.  Such a very sad time for all the family.  I’m glad  I called and C proudly showed me all the work S had done in his beautiful garden and the artist’s studio where he enjoyed producing some lovely paintings from his wheelchair.

We’re having a nice quiet evening now and still trying to keep cool.

Extra:  by the River.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.