Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

The Tiger Who Came To Tea

Woke up to rain this morning, which I didn't mind as I had no Dunollie walks this afternoon and plenty of 'office' work to get on with.
 
As lunchtime approached however, the sky cleared and the sun came out and we decided to take a picnic and drive down to the Isle of Seil to have a look at some of the entries for the Scarecrow Festival. We spotted several on our way down to Ellenabeich and had our picnic on a hidden seat overlooking the sea and the islands.
 
Driving on to Seil Village Hall we found photographs of all 75 scarecrows and had the opportunity of voting for our favourite. This was my favourite -  The Tiger Who Came To Tea !
 
Back home after lunch I returned to Dunollie to have a look at the Walled Garden, now leased to Oban’s Green Shoots’. The transformation was quite amazing - already in production with runner beans 7ft tall and herbaceous borders in full flower! I could hardly believe it since last seeing it a couple of months ago!
 
I popped in to the marquee where a historical talk was in progress, but on coming out I enjoyed the sight of a Mum and two kids talking to a cow and calf - my extra today.

Quote of the Day: 'No competence is required to be a scarecrow.' - Mehmet Murat Ildan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.