ArcLight+

By ArcLight

It's back!

A year or so ago, I remarked upon the nasturtium that had plans for world domination. Well, it's back, much to my surprise, as I always thought that nasturtiums were annuals. Or perhaps these are just self seeded plants from the multiplicity of flowers we had last year. Perhaps blip will enlighten me further. When we originally grew these nasturtiums from seed, they were initially very disappointing. What a turn around.

Anyway, I was happy to see it when it popped its head up again a few weeks ago, and even happier when it started to flower. I just need to stop it being overwhelmed with periwinkle leaves. I spent a fair bit of time tidying up the front garden today, because three weeks of patio works had restricted my weeding access, and it was starting to look really messy. There are a lot of self-seeded mini foxglove plants on the upper level, so I tried to avoid squashing these when I climbed up there to cut back some of the overhanging growth from next door. Hopefully, they will be next year's foxglove flowers. I have identified a space at the bottom that needs filling in the front, but I think rather than buying a new plant, we will bring something round to the front from the rather overcrowded raised beds in the back. And just because I still have plenty of extras, given we are in the eighth month, I have added a view of the lavender that has enjoyed moving up here from Edinburgh.

The biggest news is that the patio all finished now, duly cleaned up and finalised. We are very pleased. One thing is that while it looks new, it doesn't look "new", but rather it fits really well with the stone walls which are such a feature of the front garden. One of the coolest things is that there are a couple of stone slabs that have fossils in them, in particular some fern fossils. These will doubtless feature on blip in the not too distant future.

Now we turn our attention to the other things that need sorting out in this house / garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.