LifeLines

By LifeLines

August Arrives

August has arrived and we’re basking in summer sunshine - which is a delight, especially today as it’s been a few degrees less hot than yesterday which has made outdoor activities more bearable.

We had a morning, afternoon and evening dog walk - shorter than usual and via the stream for paddling - for dog and humans. I also spent a few hours at the allotment harvesting, weeding and watering. I also took some notes of how the various vegetable and flower varieties are performing so I can adjust what I grow next year. The afternoon was spent cooling off and doing a few jobs at home.

Grateful:
- To Andy for making a vegetable quiche for dinner.
- To my allotment plot neighbours who have taken an old and heavy steel framed cold frame from me - I found it too cumbersome to use. Their children were delighted with it and plan to use it for growing lettuces.
- For a few moments of rest in the tiny bit of shade I’ve created at the allotment amidst these flowers, with the scent of lavender and sweet peas drifting by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.