Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

DerelictWeek - Chewed Up

I’ve been waking up still really tired all week, and not feeling quite the ticket. I thought it must be the terribly humid weather we’ve been having, but it’s fresher today and I still feel well below par. I walked up to St Luke’s this morning and had a quick chat with a few people before the service began. Only about ten minutes into it, I felt very faint and clammy and sat down abruptly with my head forward. As soon as I was able, I made my way out to the entrance lobby and sat down on the bench by the door. I was very well looked after by Sue E., who got me to lie down to recover, and our Verger Mike W. who got a glass of water and retrieved my bag from the pew. Unless I’m coming down with something, I can only think that I’m still exhausted from the frantic two weeks running up to the move. Also, the extreme pain in my entire back as a result of doing far too much physical work in too short a time is making me feel sick. I had spinal surgery thirty years ago, and am not supposed to put any strain on it - but what do you do if you have a deadline to vacate the property and you want to leave it decently clean? I’m supposed to be having a check-up at the dentist tomorrow morning, but will postpone it if I’m still feeling rough. I took some ibuprofen with lunch and it helped ease the pain, but I’m still feeling a bit pallid and headachey. Maybe it’s all the strain of the past eighteen months coming out now it’s over? I don’t know. I still haven’t unpacked a single box from the move, as I just don’t feel up to it at all. Everyone was so kind and caring at church this morning, I got very emotional and cried a bit.

Thank you to Marlieske for hosting the DerelictWeek challenge. This poor leaf, along with quite a few others on the same shrub, has been chewed into skeletal dereliction by something or other. The fragile state of it kind of reflects how I feel just now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.