Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Coming Full Circle

My new camera arrived today! It's taken me months to commit to this decision as I have extremely good, expensive Canon gear, but there's a but, a big but. The more you improve upon the body, the heavier it gets and the more you want better lenses, the heavier they get. I saw a comment today about the weight when I first blipped the Canon 5D Mk III. My gear is now too heavy for my elderly body to carry far. The Man doesn't even let my carry the bag with the body and 3 lenses out to the car so, here I am. Back to where I started from when I began blipping in 2009 and very quickly wanted something better than a very cheap P&S.

This is my camera owning timeline:-

2002 Nikon something or other with £500 of Foot and Mouth grant money.
2008 HP Photosmart £50 with a free photo printer from Vikking.
2009 Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ28 Bridge camera. Swapped for family Canon.
2010 Canon EOS 300D Family swap. Broken.
2011 Canon EOS 30D From The Late Mate. Broken.
2012 Canon EOS 7D Bought from a blipper. Passed to family.
2012 Canon EOS 400D Bought from a blipper for student use.
2016 Canon EOS 5D Mk III Still in use.
2020 Canon EOS 7D From The Late Mate as spare. Passed to family.
2022 Canon EOS 7D Mk II Inherited from Late Mate. Passed to family.
2022 Canon EOS 1DS Mk III Inherited from The Late Mate. Passed to family.
2022 Canon Powershot S95 Inherited from The Late Mate. Always in my handbag.
2024 Sony Cyber-Shot RX10 IV. Bridge camera - arrived today.

It's going to take me a while to get used to it. I'll still be using the 5D3 around the house but the Sony will go out places with me.

And this new camera of great value,plus accessories was just left on the step in view of the road with no waterproof cover. No knock. No ring of the doorbell......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.