MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Keeping Us Safe

When I saw this Police helicopter fly over I immediately thought it might be connected to the widespread civil unrest in the country. I'd heard that over 100 protests were planned for this evening, including one in Walthamstow. This part of the East End of London is only 17 miles from here.

The Metropolitan Police have 1,300 public order officers on standby and patrols have been increased. Many officers have given up their days off to keep Londoners safe. Businesses have closed early and premises have been boarded up. People are being urged to fact-check social media and not to share until information has been verified.

Great therefore to learn that this evening there's a huge peaceful crowd saying, "No hate in Walthamstow."  I haven't actually fact-checked this because there are lots of similar posts and pics on Twitter so I believe the information to be genuine.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.