MikeWest

By MikeWest

Double Trouble

A much improved day weather wise today, sunshine and a far more comfortable temperature than of late. I really enjoyed seeing this patch of colourful coneflowers in the prairie, which stood out in a shady spot late in the day.

I wanted to show the flowers in their environment, but my shortest focal length of 70mm didn't allow for a wider shot. So, I took two frames, panning up for the second, which also allowed me to change the focus point to get the background sharp as well.

However, Lightroom photomerge didn't do a good job of stitching where the foreground flowers overlapped those behind, so I manually merged the frames in Photoshop. It didn't help that a slight breeze moved some flowers between shots.

A pleasing result.

Extra: Inquisitive Wren.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.