secret garden

By freespiral

July 8th 1986

A slightly yellowed piece of paper in a scrapbook - yes, I still have folders of the boys' drawing and other things from way way back. This one I have always loved and it really is full of memories, I can remember the day very clearly. Princess Diana was arriving in Warwick to open the newly designed rose garden at Warwick Castle,  She landed in a helicopter and some  of my friends rushed off to see her arrive, though I couldn't think why. Her route to the castle did not go anywhere near our house but it did go past my friend's, She was working but Joe, aged 3, and I waited on her doorstep to get a good view of the cortege as it went by. As she was driven by in a black limo, Princess Diana caught my eye and I knew at that moment that she was envious of me clasping my, admittedly gorgeous, little boy and that she wished she was at home with her own babies. She smiled at me and I felt sorry for her. Will and his class lined the pavements outside their school and of course they had to record what they had seen - this is Will's drawing. He was  nearly six at the time. I wonder if he remembers as I do. I must ask him. Strange how it all turns out.
Thanks 60Plus for today's MM theme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.