simonsblips

By simonslife

Hot

Drizzle first thing but with Signs of the Sun bursting through later, with the campsite in harmony Dippy and I popped just down the road to a transport show where we joined some T, H, I, F, E and M who were showing an arm lorry, a green goddess and a very old rover. The turnout was phenomenal, too bewildering for me but good to see the people who were there enjoying the warm weather and freedom of being in the fresh air.
Dippy fancied himself as a model for this Grand Prix racer;)
Returned home to sort out bike and kit for the British Masters Road Race championship which started at 14:00. Could I find my racing licence…..no!
I decided to get everything else sorted and would search More thoroughly after everything else was ready.
Bagels devoured and race ready I started to panic as I was already 10 minutes later than I wanted to be.
I eventually found it in a shoe where it had slipped into from the seat where I had left it so that I would not lose it.
30 minutes later than I wanted to I headed off to the venue. No parking made me even later but I didn’t panic as the journey I had been on was purely for motivation to help recover from the horrific accident I suffered back in February. Signed on changed and just had time to pop to the loo!
The race was off and not the sedentary start my unwarmed up body required. Legs burning I moved to the top 10 as I knew the first climb would be difficult with my rib cage and damaged vertebrae. An injection of pace up front didn’t help and several other riders struggled and slipped back, my lungs were on fire and I couldn’t get back up to the peloton. We rode hard in vain with the temperature now in the high 20s but enjoyed the scenery until we got back to the hq at half way and decided that nothing was to be gained by bashing ourselves any further.
We recovered with cool drinks being grateful for the gift of our health and for the opportunity to take part in the race.
Back to camp again after dropping off a print of the blip I had taken on , they were most grateful and definitely still in love.
Chicken curry and some potato salad prepared by Alice greatly appreciated before a leisurely walk around the campsite and Zzzzz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.