Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Memory is a funny thing.  What things are important and not so much, the irrelevant and tedious, how does that get decided for the memory banks versus the deep and meaningful?  The bits you want and don't want.

The indoor and outdoor footwear falls into the tedious and really what does it matter category.  Except when it comes to tracking in pollen and whatever and for causing oneself to laugh or despair when one doesn't remember yet again to change out of/into the assigned footwear, even stepping over said footwear to get inside or outside and then realizing as one is scuffing along that it's too late.  So what?  Really?  (Except it is kinda gross and then one thinks well, I guess I better vacuum.)  This never happens at the front door, only the patio doors, so why does memory work there and not here?  Muscle memory?  Or something else?  Who the heck knows, the color and type of shoes seems to make no difference to my memory when at the patio doors.

Photography has always been an important memory prompt for me in multiple ways, as well as proof of something.  Since smartphones with cameras photographing important things - particularly when I'm stressed and I know I'm doing things on auto-pilot - I use photos so I don't find myself sitting at an airport wondering if I locked the front door (turned the oven off, choose whichever personal freakout you have), I can just look at photos on my phone.  Yes, there it is, I DID do it, I didn't forget.

Serendipitously the most recent episodes of a podcast I like is about memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.