Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Variable Duskyface Fly

I’m all out of inspiration today - I think it’s mostly a result of the sticky weather we’ve had the past few weeks. I don’t cope at all well with humidity, and find it really drains my energy levels. I saw my sister today, and she feels the same. We both get much worse back and joint pain when it’s muggy weather too. When I got home from visiting her, I just couldn’t think of anything to blip. So this is a bit of an Emergency Blip. It’s (I think) a Variable Duskyface Fly - Melanostoma mellinum - a species of hoverfly, which has just emerged from exploring the centre of the rose. Although there are more insects around now than there were earlier in the summer, I still feel from my general observations that it’s been a pretty bad year for them. All very worrying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.