lg9

By lg9

Peregrine

It's funny that when I first realized this might be a peregrine falcon, I was kicking myself for not taking more pictures. I thought I would never see it again, but I've seen it pretty much every time I pass the water tower. I always stop and take a couple of shots. It's a bit too far up to get a great picture and the sun is almost always wrong, but I figure I'm bound to get lucky eventually.

I almost got lucky with hawks today riding with K. We rode in the park which is wooded - too hot for the road today. K spotted a hawk and so we turned around to have a look. It turns out there were 4 (!) hawks together, 2 or 3 of them juveniles, all focused on a meal they had been having before we interrupted them (which I thankfully could not identify). I went back to the car for my camera, but they were all gone when I returned.

It was very cool to see 4 together in one spot - I think they were broad winged hawks. We also saw a squirrel right behind them, so we quickly ran him off - I'm not going through that again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.