PorridgeWog

By PorridgeWog

Final tour (Day 3385)

Up and out at stupid o'clock this morning so that I could try and get an early-ish finish to my day. First on the list in the bathroom re-fit was to finish off the plasterboarding. With that out of the way, I got organised to bed the shower tray down. My stud wall construction was spot on and the corner the tray sits in is absolutely square. Not bad for a plumber.
Once the tray was bedded down and levelled, I hooked up the waste and had a really good tidy up.
As I was putting stuff away in the van, my beautiful wife called to say she was intending to go to the Ness of Brodgar archaeological dig for the 1pm tour. There was enough time for me to get home and have lunch and join her. Sigurd led us round and was a fabulous guide. The work the archaeologists have done since the site was first uncovered is extraordinary. Today was the last day for visitors to see the dig, and Sigurd's last tour. Next week, to preserve the structures for future research when techniques and technology have improved, the whole lot will be covered over and returned to the way it was before the dig started. A shame in some ways, but it will give the team time to catch up on all the things they have discovered.
From Brodgar HV and I headed across to the horses to dish out hay and get poked in the face by George, then along to Mum's for coffee and a catch up and to give the pup a scratch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.