While on my runs

By waipushrink

Felled by the wind

This afternoon I noticed that one of the Nikau palms beside the drive had a frond extending well past the edge of the drive. Got the small 'loppers' and proceeded to shorten the frond.

Which is when I noticed that the very tall Ponga trunk was the actual culprit, having been blown over by wind. Although the Ponga tree fern was no longer living it was providing Rata with a way to be up high. (See the extra for a close up of the Rata on the Ponga).

Based on a rather casual pacing out of the length (height) of the trunk, the Ponga was 5 - 6 metres tall. 

I will try and get the Rata to find somewhere else to grow (in the backyard). I don't think that this Rata is one of those that will change from growing like a vine to being a tall tree.

Its been another (intermittently) wet day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.