life of d

By davidd

56

Today was my birthday which got off to a rather unfortunate start when Bertie dog fell from the stairs last night. I was in the garden with Dotty, H and Pops shouted for us so I ran in to find Bert lying on the hall floor. He was alive and breathing but not right, he’d fallen through the banisters from the top of the stairs onto the hall floor.

He was clearly in a bad way, not responding to anything. He’s been like this before, tumbled down the stairs, looked close to death then bounced up like nothing had happened. This was different though he was clearly broken. I didn’t move him, just stroked him and told him what a great dog he was and how everyone loved him (although he was an annoying twerp at times, he really was loved by everyone). As he slipped away I told him to say hello to Molly for me and then he was gone.

I sat with him for a bit, making sure he was off to wherever. I don’t believe in gods and heaven but dogs really do deserve a good play in the Elysium fields, I hope Molly, George and Ben were waiting for him.

Alf wasn’t here, and Alf was Bert’s favourite human. He ( Alf ) was at Liv’s for the weekend so when I picked him
up from the station I had to tell him Bert had died, he was horribly upset poor chap.

We got home and I dug a grave for Bert then put him in it. I put Mollys ashes in there as well, they were pals in life and so I thought they should be together.

Pops got back from work and so it was time
For birthday presents then Alf drove us into town. He left to go back to Liv’s. H, Pops and I went for dinner and cocktails at Six.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.