Jambo journal

By IainC

Rolling

I guess this is what the cookbooks mean by a ‘rolling boil’. Whatever, it got the pasta cooked just past al dente by which time the sauce was bubbling away and the Debreziner were heated, chopped and added. Good timing for once.
It speaks volumes that this was my noteworthy moment of the day! It was raining when we got up and rained all day, with a brief pause which tempted me to scrub the terrace - but only tempted. Looking at the forecast, the rain should stop on Tuesday (apologies to those folk desperate for the stuff).
A&P came over and Alex spent a few hours making fishing flies, raiding S’s granny’s sewing box for suitable threads and the like. He’s got the angling bug, not something that I pretend to understand but I was impressed by his fly-making skill. For myself, I read a lot. Finished ‘The Good, the Bad and the Smug’ (enjoyed) and also ‘The Enigma Affair’ (complete tosh) then read ‘Venus Prime 1’ in a oner (mixed, good in parts) before starting on ’Every Spy a Traitor’. The jury’s still out on that one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.