Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Conwy Challenge

I’ve realised that our camera club doesn’t really have a summer break, with a programme of optional activities throughout the summer. Today it’s the Conwy Challenge, a sort of interpretive treasure hunt set in the historic walled town. 

We’re each given a list of seven words and we have to find an image to illustrate each  word. The really tricky thing is that we have to take the images in the order of the words and present our memory cards for downloading back at the starting point. 
No in-camera editing is allowed. 

It’s an annual event but a first for me, and I decide my method will be to wander around the town getting ideas before sitting down with a cup of coffee - and a gluten free cake - and noting down my chosen image for each. 

There’s only one photo allowed for each - though I stupidly forget that I can take several and delete - and several need to be quick grab shots while the holiday crowds allow. The quality is highly questionable! 

Frustratingly, there’s always the possibility of a better shot for one of the words that just presents itself which might mean having to start over just to get the order right, but my favourite opportunity comes at just the right time. I’ve planned a piece of studio pottery for ‘modern’ but the shop is temporarily closed - one of those ‘back in ten minutes’ notices. I wander down to the quay and spot two beautifully styled girls and ask if I can take their photograph. They are absolutely delightful, full of easy confidence that makes them wonderful models - I just wish it was a normal photo day when I would have taken far more shots. Next year I’ll do what one of my fellow club members does and bring along a second camera! 

So like yesterday, my main is a portrait  - and thanks so much for the appreciation many of you showed for my printmaker. I’ve placed a compilation of the seven shots in extras - the words are fast, short, ten, ancient, modern, long, slow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.