Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Nouster Bay

A change in the weather today. After another sustaining breakfast I went for a walk along the sands at Nouster just beside the bird observatory. Yesterday and the day before the sea was turquoise and the sky blue. Not so today but I still like the colours even if they're a lot more muted. Collected the bags and walked to the airport. It's no more than a mile from the observatory. The waiting area is swish with a nice coffee machine. I read the minutes of the North Ronaldsay community council. Different issues to our local one but between the lines you could read similar frustration. 

The plane arrived from Kirkwall and five minutes later we were on board and taking off for Papay (Papa Westray). The flight took seven or eight minutes. Once at Papay we walked down the road to Beltane Hostel where we're staying for a couple of nights. 

We've been to Papay a good few times but always on a day trip from Westray. I'm pleased that we have the chance to stay this time. The hostel is lovely. Modern, warm and comfortable. The community shop will be open this afternoon and I'll be able to buy some food for our stay here. 

It's wet - definitely over trouser weather. Despite that I'm going to head out this afternoon to the beach. I know where I'm going and I don't want to miss any of the delights of this tiny but active island. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.