stujphoto

By stujphoto

Gull in Dunbar Harbour

Such is our sunny weather that the surfing classes for our grandchidren, Ellie & Cara were postponed today because the sea was so calm. So this morning we amused ourselves with kites (not very successfully) and boules on the beach whilst my wife took the dogs for a walk.

This afternoon I took them to Dunbar Swimming Pool where the big attractions are the wave machine and the flume.

Afterwards I quickly grabbed a blip down at the harbour front. Initially I was taking the usual shots of boats and reflections but then noticed that the gulls that were circling around followed a fairly routine pathway. I positioned myself pretty well on the fight path and proceeeded to click away on continuous shooting as they passed by. At one point they were so close they were actually too big to fit into the frame but I did manage to get a few shots of them near enough to get a real close-up view whilst retaining the background the harbour.

I guess the interesting aspect of this blip is that I am actually looking down on them so instead of a bleached out sky I was getting waters which were a rich and dark blue which I have actually toned down to look a bit more realistic..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.