LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Wet Weather

Its not always sunny in Stromness., sometimes it rains! The day began sunny and calm. but by lunch time the wind picked up, the sea was a mass of white horses and the rain was heavy. I was invited for an afternoon cuppa with a Selkie who lives on the hill behind the town and she kindly picked me up in her car otherwise I would have been like a drowned rat before I got to her house. Her view over Hamnavoe to the Hoy Hills in other weather would have been spectacular but today the hills were obscured behind rain cloud and hardly discernible. The weather hardly mattered as we whiled away the afternoon with laughter and chat. I have to say her husband who was present was very patient and stayed the course.

Earlier I said au revoir to the Edinburgh Visiting Selkie who sailed south on the morning ferry for a mainland wedding . She will be staying in Edinburgh for a few days but not with me obviously but with her daughter and husband in their new home.
I’m in for the night, as they say, and looking out at the weather  through double glazed windows , the latter being a welcome difference from those of the Dower House

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.