David J. Rose

By djrose007

King Charles fiver

We had an event last Saturday, Fairford Steam and Vintage show held in the village of Fairford, of course! It's close to RAF Fairford where the annual RIAT (Royal International Air Tattoo) is held. It's the largest military airshow in the world while Oshkosh, in Winsconsin, is the largest for fly-in's I believe.
I couldn't attend this one so one of my RBL Riders Branch colleagues took it on himself to set it up and run it. I managed to get 4 others to assist him.
This morning I was counting the donation pots contents to bank it for the RBLR, and it then gets transferred to the Poppy Appeal. Since the formation of the Riders Branch, in 2004, we have raised a little short of 2,000,000 Pounds, yes - Two Million! We are hoping to break that this year. About Us – RBL Riders Branch
While counting the notes I noticed King Charles III on one of the fivers. It's the first one I've seen, although I have had a coin with his profile on it. The other photo is the money bagged up ready for me to take to the bank, 
One of my other Riders came to our home to help me count, plus as a witness that the seals on the pot, and bucket, that were used were not broken until an independent witness was present.
The total for the day was £140.88. It would have been a lot more if there had not been a terrible mistake by the organisers in that they took us for the Royal British Legion, despite me putting in a formal request entitled with the Riders Branch and a full risk assessment, event application, public liability certificate etc. 
Our (RBLR) stand was placed right alongside the local RBL stand so people donating to the RBL stand wouldn't be donating again to the same cause just a couple of yards away!
I think the team did extremely well to raise so much. One thing that helps us is the presence of the motorbikes, they attract children, fathers and biker ladies. (EXTRA)
I have emailed the organiser to ensure it doesn't happen next year, and that we would be happy to support the local RBL stand rather than set up 'in competition', as I'm sure the old Major General, on the RBL stand, saw it as!
Anyway, I've praised the team, and the Rider that came to help me count, on the Gloucestershire Riders Facebook page. Always good to give people a pat on the back for a job well done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.