Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘A Treasured View’

This is the SW entrance to Inverleith Park, where my ever-slower morning jog really begins. I reach this view almost exactly half a kilometre from my starting point, having passed rows of 1870s tenements followed by a row of Edwardian villas. It's generally around 7.30, and the only people around are dog walkers and a few fellow runners. 

Each time, the view is different, not just obvious things like the weather but also more subtle changes, such as the light, clarity, or tones. But every time I reach this point, I feel an almost childlike urge to explore.

 My route takes me down the path on the right and then around the pond before going up a steepish hill at the end to reach the broader, more open, flatter, and altogether more mundane territory of the main Park. This part includes rugby and cricket pitches and a children's play park. Here, the dog walkers are out in force, often gathered in huddles to chat.

By the time I do my second lap of the park, the coffee stall is opening up, too,  and children are heading, either singly or in groups (including family groups), to the several schools dotted around the park. By the time I leave the park, down the avenue of trees to the same entrance, and back on the pavement (and the traffic!) I often find I'm nudged off it again by the army of pupils going in the opposite direction as I head back home via the local supermarket and their free cup of coffee!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.