SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Octopus

After a less than good night's sleep - maybe I ate too late - after breakfast I took the ten-minute walk from my hotel to "2, Circle Square", the home of Kraken, which is part of the Octopus Energy group, and funder of my newer PhD student. There I had a brief, but useful discussion with two of their optimization team, before leaving for Old Trafford cricket ground. When I discovered that the bus didn't take card payments, I was near a bike hire station, so I signed up and pedaled my way there. 

The first half of the day was generally sunny and warm, and England dominated Sri Lanka. The weather turned very dull in the second half, as Sri Lanka managed a partial comeback. It's less fun seeing the opposition score, but fortunately I got to see England batting for a short time, before the weather got too dull and play ended for the day. 

I attempted to cycle back into the centre of Manchester on another hire bike, with the aim of collecting some more Turf zones, but it was hard to navigate the maze of bike paths, fences and walkways, so I walked in the rest of the way.

Today was the first time I've seen live test cricket since Headingley 1981 - when I saw the second day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.