Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Things I didn't notice?

        Have a guess; how many are "Mainland" and where do the rest come from?
       "Mainland" - only four, middle three + top left. What I hadn't noticed? Only the "English/Scottish(?) are engraved "DECUS ET TUTAMEN" I have a vague memory of A. N. Other saying it was "Decorative and useful" - online translator tells me it's "FITNESS AND PROTECTION
        The Welshman deviates, of course; he says "PLEIDIOL WYF I`M GULAD" the translation of which I SERIOUSLY DOUBT 
       Calling all Welshmen. PLEASE tell me it isn't "I'M PARTY FOR MY GULAD".
Below the Welsh - devoid of Q E ll is engraved "BALIWICK OF GUERNSEY"
Finally right three -2 Isle of Man, 1 Malta no engraved edge just alternate milled & plain.
I can no longer remember if I kept them when I "weighed the rest in" or the just floated out of the "gloom" slowly and separately.

       Returned - to mention something else I didn't know.  
Victoria only had three "Heads" Young: Jubilee: Old.
Elizebeth with near enough the same Reign length had five 1st with just a Laurel "Crown" which amused me every time I see a photo of "Bay Leaves" round a head - I tend to forget Bay is "Lauris Nobilis" ;¬)
       The next four had two different Coronets alternating, if you get the idea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.