Poppy

By Poppy

Garden flowers

Our front garden is all flowers, and nearly all of them are perennials.  It's getting time that some of them need to be culled and replaced but they are so closely planted that it's tricky. I really need to make a plan and do some serious replanting but I'm a bit scared of such an undertaking! Would be best to do it in the winter and I have got lots of photos so I know what is where, even if they are dormant. I will have to bite the bullet one day!

This winter I had planned to dig up this hydrangea but we never got round to it and it has flowered better than it has done for about 7 years! 
The extra, Japanese anemone, has spread like wildfire. The flowers are so pretty but the foliage quickly looks very tatty and miserable and there is an awful lot of it! It is going to have to be severely curtailed, it's spread underneath the weed membrane under the gravel, round the central path. There must be miles of it. Perhaps I can pot up lots of little bits of it and sell it to unsuspecting holiday makers?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.