K9tam

By K9tam

Sir Ludwig Guttmann.

Last Sunday I received a text from the NHS. It read ' We are expecting you at Stoke Mandeville Hospital for an ENT appointment on 25/08/24 at 8.30. Not attending costs the NHS approx £160.'    A bit of a terse message with very little notice, and nowhere to contact to say I could, or couldn't attend. No directions either.

Anyway, I was able to attend, and at that time it was easy to park. It's 6 months since I had the grommet fitted, and 8 months since my referral. I've been diagnosed with Eustachian tube dysfunction and given a six month open appointment should it flare up again in that time. The grommet is still in place so fingers crossed it continues to work with easing my ear problems. The Consultant said for someone my age, my hearing is excellent, so I've warned the family not to whisper about me when I'm around as I'll hear them!

So, to my blip picture. As the Paralympic flame leaves Stoke Mandeville for Paris today, I felt the statue of Ludwig Guttmann had to be my picture. Ludwig established the Stoke Mandeville games for people with disabilities. And just look at where we are today with the games.

Lovely dinner with Jodie and family for our 51st wedding anniversary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.