Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Good Eats

As I chatted with Ceridwen, I was puttering around in the kitchen as she prepared her blip. I cleaned up a bit to free up space, then brewed a pot of fresh coffee, broiled a bison steak (our term London Broil is meaningless in London, by the way), boiled some purple potatoes, and chopped up a simple salad. I doubt that this simple meal was as tasty as Gazan malfouf, but it really pleased this amateur chef.

As I was puttering, chatting, and eating, I was hearing the cicadas singing away outside. I assumed they were 17-year cicadas (which are active now in my area), but it turns out I must have been hearing some of the annual kind just then. Here is the rhythmic, wave-like song that I remember well from my childhood.

It's hot here, with health warnings being announced each day on the morning news. I've been reading A Murder of Quality by John le Carré. I decided to read all of his Smiley spy novels (this being the second) after enjoying the films & TV series made from the more famous books of the series. It's wonderful reading!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.