Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Hilltop Church

I packed my lunch, camera and sketching stuff to head over to St Martha's Hill near Guildford for the afternoon.

This pretty church, with glorious views over the Surrey Hills, lies just off the North Downs Way and the Pilgrim's Way, an historic pilgrimage route between Winchester and Canterbury Cathedrals, is nearby. It is normally only accessed by foot up a steep path from the nearest road some half mile away although I noted the vicar, who had just held a service in the church, had driven up the rough bridle track!

I settled down in the churchyard for my lunch and did a line and wash painting of the church (extra).  The emptied sandwich box proved very useful for holding the wild blackberries I picked and will probably add to a crumble or similar for puddings this week.  A welcome cup of coffee and piece of cake from a tea stall run by church volunteers completed my lazy Bank Holiday weekend Sunday afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.