Colstro

By Colstro

Cruise Ship

Santorini is a popular visiting place for large cruise ships.  Most days that we have been here there have been up to 4 ships moored in the caldera, with tenders taking passengers to the port or to Fira where dozens of coaches then take them to Oia - which is always very crowded as a result.

Cruising has never appealed to me.  I like to visit places in a more leisurely fashion and stay longer, hopefully seeing parts that the cruise ship tours don't have time to visit - and seeing them when there are fewer tourists and they are less crowded.

However, today we chose to take a taxi to Imerovigli, where we stayed the first time we visited Santorini, and walk to Fira, spotting the villa where we stayed before, and the various restaurants and cafes we visited last time. This area was inevitably quite busy.

This is quite deliberately not a photographic holiday.  Our aim was to relax and chill. To this end I only took my camera body and one lens. (I also had my compact Lumix in the hotel, but didn't take that out with me.)  I was a little upset, then, when my camera started reporting an error with the communication between the lens and the body and stopped working.  I suspect a fault with the old lens I am using. I can't do anything about it until I get home, so the rest of my photographs today were taken on my phone.

(Backblipped after my return home.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.