New Corner

I'm usually on corner 9. Corner 9 is my corner. Simple as that. If I find someone parked there, I just want to drag them off the parking spot with the tow chain. It's my spot, get the hell off it.

Trouble is that after 1pm I'm starting to shoot shadows. The sun has moved in front of me just enough and the contrast is starting to kill me. And it really doesn't help that most bikers are dressed in black leather.

If the sun stays in clouds then I can stay on the corner, but if the sun is out - I'm getting screwed. Difused lighting good, direct sunlight bad. Everyone thinks that a photographer wants a bright sun - we don't - we hate it - it's an awful light to shoot in because it creates so many dark shadows everywhere.

So I tried this other corner when my wife was with me, and it seemed ok, but the more you shoot on that corner that more comfortable you get - and you do get some superb angles.

I'm not trying to shoot just a biker/car/cyclist - I want to get some of Stelvio in. The subject is not the biker/driver/cyclist, the subject is the biker/driver/cyclist on Stelvio - and this corner gives me a little more of the road.

And after 1pm - the sun is behind me so I'm not shooting shadows so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.