JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Wet...

We knew today was forecast to be wet and very windy, and so it proved.
Everyone except Simone and I went into Holyhead for the morning. Jack and Marianna needed to drop into the local NHS walk-in centre for some advice about a lingering gastric upset that Frieda has, and it made sense for Simone to stay with me. We played, she napped when she needed to, thanks to the power of routine: once in the pushchair, in her waterproofs, even the wild wind didn't keep her awake. As soon as she'd dropped off, I wheeled her back inside and she slept on for a good hour.
Later, when everyone was back, I drove to Menai Bridge to see Brian (the husband of our old friend Jess, who died very recently). We had a long, good, tearful talk. Richard and I will be back in Menai Bridge in mid-Sept, for a memorial gathering of Jess's friends and family. That'll be a busy time, so it was good to see Brian more quietly today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.