BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

El Anatsui

I felt a bit better today and as I had to pick up some things in town I donned my mask (it felt strange!) and headed off.

I was walking past Old College when I saw that a (free) exhibition was still on. The decorated pillar outside had previously caught my eye but on this occasion I could see into the courtyard and glimpsed the huge hanging at the far end like a work of Christo but unique in its own right. See extra.

Curiosity piqued, I then spent time going round the exhibition of El Anatsui from Ghana in the Talbot Rice Gallery. A fascinating display or work mainly using recycled materials or wood. The hangings are frequently made from flattened bottle tops stapled together. Each time they are hung they can take on different shapes meaning the artwork develops and is not seen in the same way.

There is a lot of meaning and symbolism behind it all. Well worth a visit if not here then at a future event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.