Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Bishop David

I’m in Oban tonight, and I’m tired. Been up since 6am, leaving as soon after 8am as we could, to be here to take our seats in the Cathedral of St John the Divine for the consecration of the new Bishop of Argyll, our friend and until recently our priest in Dunoon. I felt that only a collage could convey the experience of one of these services, full of symbolism and tradition.

Afterwards, there was a hoolie along the road in the Highland Gathering Hall, where I talked to more people than you could shake a stick at and laughed immoderately at memories recalled by aged clerics whom I had last seen when they were young and I was younger. Then the pair of us nearly drowned walking through Oban centre to the Premier Inn in the worst downpour of the day - my only pair of shoes other than my slippers till I get home are totally sodden.

Then there was a further bout of meetings and conversation, this time with visitors from England; by the time we returned to our hotel we were completely talked dry.

And now we’ve just had the best fish and chips we’ve eaten in ages, washed down by some robust red wine, and are already rejoicing in the predictable comfort of the bed in a well-known chain of hotels.

I’ll be back …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.