Nuts!

I had high hopes for today. The lovely Ed insisted that I take today off. I didn't need telling twice... why is she trying to get rid of me, I wonder?!
Brilliant, I thought. I tried getting hold of Jackie to see if I could pop up and visit Rafi in the morning... couldn't get any response to calls or text.
So I vacuumed the house, did a spot of gardening before it got even hotter, took some birdie and bee pictures.

Little did I know that whilst I was diddling about in the garden, my mobile phone had slipped out of the pocket of my shorts. Roughly about 2pm, as I was hiding inside away from the scorching sun (I'm not complaining.. oh no)
I heard a distant whistling: the noise my phone makes when I get a message. Realised phone not in pocket... what! Where is it? I then spent the next hour or so turning the house and then garden upside down looking for it. Eventually.... I found it lying in the long grass, scorchingly hot and covered in tiny fried insects, with a message from Jackie: she had forgotten to switch her phone back after a morning meeting about Rafi. So it was 'Oopsie' on the communication front for both of us today.

I subsequently discovered that some of the little un-fried phone critters had crawled up the leg of my shorts and take a few little nips. With some relief I can report that they got no further than the top of my leg... phew.

I have a waggon load of things to do now. Work tomorrow and then we are off to Bristol and Wales on Friday, for the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.