CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

35028 'Clan Line' – heading the Cotswold Venturer

Visits by steam trains are lessening these days, probably for a number of reasons. Late in the day Helena convinced me that I'd regret not going to see it passing through Stroud as dusk approached. She was correct, and I'm glad I went to see it.

The engine was in good condition, and I gather that the train had been held up on the far side of town. As a result the driver had to release steam by 'blowing off' as you can see by the white plume of steam from near the cab of the locomotive, behind the black smoke. This smoke was caused by the fireman hurling more fuel on the fire as from this point on the engine would have its hardest climb of the day ascending the very steep Sapperton Bank on its way to Swindon and back to London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.