ishaan97

By ishaan03

Tom’s leaving do

My colleague Tom has his last day today but before that celebration begins. I had my own situation going on. Seeing an internal role that I have been keen for in the Data Science and Innovation team, I felt that I wanted apply and be a part of. As this is an internal role, it meant that I had to inform the manager before applying. All this had me thinking - 1. Will the relationship between my manager and me change? 2. What's the worst thing that could happen? 3. What would happen if I get rejected? All of these thoughts prevented me from applying before. Mentors:  Rohan, Andras, Sanjana, Ross, Glenn and Cecilia pushed me to apply for it. Andras was the only one who sort of understood how much I hate workplace conflict, given that it is so unnecessary. I eventually managed to apply.

Later, I logged off and went with Ceclia on the tram. She got off early and I headed to Tom's leaving do. It was a fun night out with Tom, Murray, Jeremy (my manager) and Yen. Lot of laughs and some post work (and not required) conversations with manager on my project.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.