mambo

By mambo

We do Love a Stone Wall

So fortunate that on a Saturday l can catch a bus directly from my village to Grassington:- an hour and ten minute journey that takes you through some of the most beautiful countryside in the Yorkshire Dales.
That’s what Elaine and l did today.
Once there we took the riverside walk to Hebden.
Called into the Old School Tearooms ( recently voted in the top seven tearooms in the country by the Sunday Times) for two pots of tea: green for Elaine and Yorkshire ( of course ) for me.
We both had a slice of almond and cherry frangipani.
Very pleased our table was in the window alcove and we enjoyed the view in extras.
Then we walked back into Grassington.
My foot was fine, so my fear of aggravating my plantar fasciitis was unfounded.

Caught the bus back to Ilkley, went to book a table for our lunch tomorrow then came home, first calling in my local for a bitter shandy, we sat in the beer garden and enjoyed the evening sun.
Now making some supper: chicken and leeks in a tarragon sauce with spinach and dauphinois potatoes. 
A lovely last day of meteorological summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.