talloplanic views

By Arell

Kicking back in Kirky

I thought I should see how I was for doing a slightly longer motorbike ride, since it's been a month on the new meds.  And since it was such a lovely morning I decided to go back to Kirkintilloch for a longer look around.  The Forth and Clyde canal tow path was pretty busy and I couldn't find somewhere very convenient to sit, so after a bit of treasure hunting (which was the secret main objective) I went to Peel Park, where the bandstand is, found a bench and ate my lunch in the Dappled Light*.

Then it was off to the library for a wee wander.  I had almost forgotten how quiet and relaxing libraries are.  Woe betide the visitor who speaks much above a whisper!  The William Patrick library, you see, has the full archive of Lion Foundryana and I wanted to ask how to make an appointment to view it, or even some of it.  So I did, and their archivist is going to get back to me.

Then it was back onto two wheels and homewardbound.  I thought I might come through "what's it called? Cumbernauld" and Airdrie and mosey back along the A89, but despite (or perhaps because of) my GPS, I made a complete mess of my navigation, went to Twechar by mistake,  missed Cumbernauld, then took three wrong turns and got lost in some roadworks and ended up on the motorway to Glasgow.  Fortunately I managed to extricate myself after several miles and reached the M8, whence I decided just to whizz east and be done with it.  It was very buffety though and my helmet was noisy.  The Edinburgh bypass turned out to be jammed, and the main road into Edinburgh was jammed as well, so I rode out of town and headed for the ring road.  That was fine until I reached Colinton which was also jammed.  I don't know what was going on in town today!

So I went to Mum and Dad's, we watched Winnie the Fox visiting a couple of times, and we had yummy takeaway for tea.

* By curious coincidence, also the name of The 12 Bongs' 4th album, from the period when they were trying to appear richer than they were.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.