While on my runs

By waipushrink

Pastel-coloured sunset

Father's Day today in Aotearoa/New Zealand; also in Australia. Tsuken rang me and we had a lovely talk. His children spoiled him with coffee and breakfast. S and I went to daughter C's for afternoon coffee and cake. Mr H was there and daughter J joined us. Young L was busy with rehearsing for the School show, so I missed him. Lots of happy talk.

My brother's grandaughters had found certificates he had received from the annual calf club when we were at primary school. They asked me if I had any, as they showed me all that he had. I found mine today (after a lengthy look). 

It brought home to me that my father had been developing a high quality Jersey dairy herd. Sadly, he was fifty years or more ahead of his time. In the post-war years volume was more important that quality. He had to sell and move.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.