The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Washing Machine in Bloom

This  installation is part of the 'Towns in Bloom'c ompetition.Theyre big news around here. It was situated outside a white goods shop..

S. Went off to the market in the morning..I pottered around and made my jumping jewelled quinoa and pomegranate signature salad for later, then wandered off via the market, to see V at the cinema. It was national cinema day, all tickets 4.00, and we'd decided to see It Ends with Us, the film based on the Colleen Hoover novel of the same name. Well, it was good, but featured scenes of domestic and sexual violence, as we'd known it would. Afterwards, I felt the need to go for coffee to debrief and ask the important questions, such as, why would a woman in her late 20s be attracted to a guy, no matter how handsome, when her first encounter with him had featured him savagely attacking a (blameless) chair on a roof terrace? Stupid question: I've fallen for people with obvious issues, more than once. 

So after coffee and grocery shopping and looking at babygros for V's friend's grandson, we walked back through town and eventually I got home and had a short sleep. All too soon, it was time to get up a dressed for a party!

This was ostensibly for E's birthday. E is S's flatmate, and is an Afghani refugee. His birthday was on Wednesday. I think the real reason, though was to help S get over his disappointment at not being accepted for the Access to Higher Education course at Cheltenham. He was very upset about this. His written English was not up to scratch: he has just failed GCSE. 

In any case, S and his sister S and E had done loads of cooking of  delicious Persian food, and once we'd eaten, we pushed back the furniture and had a dance. I'd brought glow-sticks and a speaker, and we had S's musicsl choices and tried to copy the boys in their Persian dancing. (lots of hand movements). All fantastic fun, with no alcohol of course. V left at about 11.30, we walked her back to her car. I stayed to watch Cruella because I'd never seen it. Fabulous nonsense, then we all walked back towards my house because it was too late for an Uber, and they wouldn't let me walk alone. It was a balmy evening, absolutely silent, with no one around, not even a fox. I've never known a night as quiet. They left me at the bottom of my road and I walked the final few yards, then just we I was getting into bed really quietly so as to to avoid walking Steve, my phone rang really loudly! It was S checking that'm I'd made it home. It was also 3 am. Poor Steve! It was good to feel young again.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.