TrishaR

By TrishaR

Day Trip to Glasgow

What a fab day I had!

Got the 12:08 Ember bus from Broxden to Buchanan street bus station in Glasgow.

Good journey through and when there walked 20 mins to London Road to Outlier Cafe. It towards the East end of Glasgow and there is not much on that bit of the street but Outlier is a buzzing Cafe with lots of customers and good music. Had brought my book and had a good read and people watched as had a great seat at the window.

Next was a walk to a bit of street art I wanted to see at Bridgeton. St Thenue. On the way I walked through Glasgow Green, past the Nelson’s column, up past the People’s Palace and stopped to admire the stunning Doulton Fountain, one of the largest terracotta fountains in the world. It’s a work of art. Templeman’s Carpet Factory, modelled on the Dodge’s Palace in the background.

The street art on the fable end wall of a building was brilliant, well worth the walk. I made my way back to the west end through quite a dodgy area. The strangest thing I saw was a front garden with a life size white statue of an angel playing a flute….. weird.

I saw a Cafe and stopped for a cuppa and cookie and more reading. By this time it was 6pm and had walked 17k steps! I arrived at the concert hall and had a bowl of soup in their cafe.


The concert started at 7:45 it was Michael Flately’s Lord of the Dance. I had seen it many years ago with mum and loved it so I decided to go back . There was only single seats left but I got one four rows from the front. I think you had to be young and beautiful to be a performer in this show. As well as have amazing talent. Their dancing was just superb.

What a great day I had. Just shows you that you don’t need to have someone with you to enjoy yourself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.