Living my dream

By Mima

Shredded

I bought some new frost fleece at the start of winter, with which I covered the garlic, multiplying onions and broad beans when I sowed them on May 7th. 

It is primarily to protect the seedlings from marauding blackbirds, and its secondary purpose is to keep everything a bit warm in the coldest weather.

The gales of the last two days have completely shredded it. I shan't buy this brand again: I have other fleece, bought six years ago, which is still going strong despite multiple spring storms. It infuriates me when things are barely fit for purpose.

As it is the plants beneath are now mature enough to withstand the attentions of blackbirds, and the weather is warming up sufficiently to mean that protection isn't needed.

And the bonus is that not only the crops I sowed have been revealed, but also a nice crop of rocket, parsley and mustard greens, all ready to eat. Presumably my home made compost was full of seeds. I'll be having a green salad this evening.

Last night was wild and I had a very disturbed sleep as the wind howled and blasted across the property. It continued most of today, but has now died away thankfully. And it is 21C. 

The birds have come out to sing again and I am relaxed once more.

Where do birds go in storms I wonder? Once the wind stopped it was like the dawn chorus Chez Mima as they all tried to relocate each other and find food. 

Fortunately there was no damage here, but trees came down and roofs ripped off elsewhere in North Otago. I am thankful to have escaped the worst.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.