Penguin Droppings

By gen2

My Coat's Waterproof

A day of mist and rain, heavy at times.


This morning I collected my framed prints from the cafe where they had been on display throughout August.  One sold.  The new artist had just arrived to hang hers for September.


In the afternoon I walked along the promenade to the harbour where I found some wet oystercatchers, Haematopus ostralegus.  They weren't bothered by the rain.


The main blip is an adult.

With it was a juvenile (in 'extras').


There are three main differences between adults and juveniles:

1) The legs.  Adults have orange/red legs, juveniles have pink legs.

2) The bill.  Wholly orange/red in adults and only the base is that colour in juveniles.

3) The eye.  Deep red in mature adults and black in juveniles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.