Look Out

By chrisf

Integrity and Industry crystallised

The big project this autumn is a replacement kitchen, something J was very keen on. After a couple of false starts we'd got as far as a start date and paying for the units/tops/new white goods - and then everything changed. But now it's moving forward and will commence soon, and I am starting the job of emptying cupboards. It's going to be pretty chaotic for the next six weeks. No oven, hob, fridge or washing machine will present some interesting challenges which I'm starting to think through.. 

Which takes me to the glasses cupboard. Before I retired I came across boxes of old lead crystal glasses in the basement of the Civic Centre. The crest is that of one of the five predecessor local authorities, so the glasses are pre 1974. Civic receptions requiring this sort of finery are very much a thing of the past, so the glasses had been retired long ago. I asked if I could have a couple as part of my leaving gift. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.